Visit Belarus means to meet hospitable people, to discover the architecture of the 12-17th centuries, to taste Belarusian cuisine, to have a rest among the unique beauty of the lakes and forests.
Our company will help you in organization of excursions to visit the most interesting places in Belarus!
Roman-Catholic Church of Saint Simon & Helen, 1908-1910
The Red Roman-Catholic Church is one of few temples having withstood all the miseries having fallen to Minsk’s lot in the 20th century and survived safe and sound to our time. The asymmetric neo-roman building of the architectural ensemble of the Independence Square. It seems that is has wandered here by pure accident, out of place and, as a perpetual pilgrim having looked despondently the surrounding from the height of its fifty-metre tower but found no mutual understanding with its strictly symmetrical and monotonous brethren of reinforce concrete and got tired with the noise and soot of permanently whisking iron horses, is just about to move back to its romantic epoch og the Middle Ages…The history of appearance of the Red Roman-Catholic Church is interesting. It was built for the money of the Slutsk landowner of old Polish aristocratic family Edward Woinilowicz and his wife Olympia. They donated their wealth for the Church after death of their children 14 and 18 years old, whose names after the Church was named. At the later 1940s, the “Neo-Romantic” sheltered temporarily the screenwriters and was renamed into the “Cinema House” having kept then its face and dignity at those bad time when many other Belarusian temples were destroyed at all or converted into warehouses and workshops. And since 1996, the guardian and defender of Archangel Michael cast of bronze by sculptor Igor Golubev battling with the dragon.
Before our citizens use the services of personal motortransport, the station twin towers built in 1956 were the main gate of the city. The building complex constructed in the “Stalin’s Empire” style opposite to the railway station was apparently stylized as a medieval gothic castle with the permanent guard of the Soviet epoch sculpture of the soldier, worker, farmer and engineer. They are decorated with the largest (3.5 m) in the Republic clock and Emblem of Belarus. The clock manufactured at the beginning of the 20th century was brought to Minsk from Germany as a salvage.
National Library of the Republic of Belarus
The “Knowledge Crystal” having opened its doors for the readers in 2006 became the second after the new railway station and main architectural symbol of the today’s Minsk, original visiting card of the city like those belonging to the most capitals of European countries. The unique idea of arrangement of the largest information centre of the country in the building constructed in the form of a giant diamond belongs to the architects V.Kramarenko and M.Vinogradov. May be they were inspires by the works of the writers treating the science fiction, on the opinion of whom, a peculiar crystalline form of life which could quit probably exist in the Universe according to its proper laws of inorganic nature being unknown to us, mere mortal people. Building of the National Library one of the symbol of the State, visiting card of Belarus.
The Mir castle has been the most successful embodiment of the tendencies of the architects of that time to the silhouette-volumetric expressiveness of the buildings and harmony of the architectural shapes with the surrounding landscape. The castle has actually no poor foreshortening; it looks wonderfully from all the sides: at both the dawn and the sunset its bewitching gothic silhouette delights the eye. In the course of time, when the outcome of the wars began to be decided rather in the field battle than during the storm of fortifications, the castle acquired partially the renaissance features after building a magnificent (out-of town) palace residence of the dukes Radziwills, the luxury of which was worthy of reception of august persons. The martial traits of its towers became essentially kinder having changed the narrow loopholes for colored glasses of its windows, plastered walls and embrasure of bays.
Nesvizh was mentioned for the first time in 1446. From 1533 till 1939 it was the family nest of the most famous and powerful magnates of the Grand Lithuanian Duchy, who were referred that time as non-crowned kings. The territory of their estate exceeded those of many European States and even crowned kings were envious of their richness and luxury. The numerous representatives of the Radziwill family held the highest posts in the Grand Lithuanian Duchy, being essentially powers brokers, who decided in many respects the fates of thousands of people and state as a whole. Just under them Nesvizh was changed, as if by magic, from a shabby town into a prospering and developed European city, high-life and cultural capital of the Grand Lithuanian Duchy. The prosperity epoch came the Nesvizh during the government of Nicolas Christopher Radziwill nicknamed as the Orphan (1549-1616). He built a new castle surround by numerous man-made pods and had the most advanced for that time bastion fortification system. For the first almost two centuries of its existence, it was never taken by storm. The castle got a number of annexes and acquired many architectural styles, from Renaissance to Neo-Gothic and art nouveau so that it became ultimately a high-society palace, whose halls kept one of the largest in Europe collections of historical, cultural and artistic values as well as legendary Radziwill’s treasures, over seeking which the treasure hunters puzzle heretofore. Who does know should the history of Belarusian lands be not so tragic for the last centuries, the Radziwill’s nest could be together with the greatest museum of the World such as Louver or Hermitage…